When will our men grow up? Hmmm…never!

The amount of mums I speak to who tell me that with our partners, sometimes it’s like having another child around – on so many levels.

It’s not all bad though, for me one thing I adore about my hubby is his fun loving and often downright mischievousness. Who wants someone who is just sensible and moralistic around all the time? No not me.

But there’s a fine line, knowing when enough is enough. Hubby struggles with that a bit, he really needs to sharpen up his radar. Beep, beep, beep – she’s hormonal, better not step out of line. Beep, beep, beep – she’s tired, keep a lid on it. Beep, beep, beep – she’s had a bad day – don’t go there.

All these child like behaviors are also great for connecting with the little ones – no problems in finding a common level there.

The latest was last night, when hubby got stuck half over the stair gate, after trying to vault over it (going upwards not down) after a few many drinks watching the football. I’m afraid I had no sympathy and left him stuck trying to squirm onto the landing. Babe proceeded to then head-but him after he had landed on a heap on the floor – it seems to be a new thing she’s trying on daddy. I could imagine her saying “doh, you’re not supposed to do that daddy.”

Me, I made no comment. Nothing about setting a good example, acting your age – sometimes I find saying nothing is more powerful.

Leave a Reply

