The business trip from hell – hiding the fact that I was pregnant while suffering from morning sickness

When I was pregnant with babe, I had to go on a business trip for a week to Majorca, to attend my company’s annual sales kick-off meeting. At the time I was in the early stages of pregnancy and morning sickness was just starting to dominate my life – it was a nightmare! 

Picture from The Nine Month Club

 

When you’re in company round the clock from breakfast till bedtime it is a real struggle to hide pregnancy, as the urge to hurl is constantly knocking at the door. To the extent that I nearly threw up all over my boss in a taxi on the way home from an evening out. 

I remember that week so vividly, it was a real struggle. I was feeling dog rough and couldn’t tell anyone about it. I told one of my friends Amy, as I figured she would catch on and that I needed a confident and someone to cover for me during the week. Amy was a brick, I couldn’t have got through that week without her – she let me cry on her shoulder during my hormonal struggle and made excellent excuses for me – like when I had to make a quick retreat to the bathroom to get over my hormonal hysteria 😉 

I nearly threw up on my boss
During these meetings, you have to be on duty every minute of the day. Ie socializing, happy and amenable – there is no chance to sit around being grumpy and slope off to your room to watch some tv. This particular night, was our team night out and if I was drinking it would have been great. All non alcoholic cocktails and fizzy water for me…I was on medication you see…that was my lie. I’d recently had a big kidney operation so it was relatively plausible. 

The whole evening was not plain sailing, and just seemed to get worse as the night went on. Cigarette smoke was one of my sickness tigers and one of my colleagues decided to light up in the resturante…argh I could have killed her! I had to retreat outside at this point. 

Then there was the taxi journey back to the hotel that we were all staying in. I was sat in the middle of the taxi in the back sandwiched between by boss and my colleague from France and all of a sudden it hit me, the urge to be sick about 10 minutes away from the hotel was so strong that I had to go into heavy breathing mode. My boss kindly looked over and asked if I was ok, I explained that I get travel sickness a lot…thats not that much of a fib, I am a sufferer, but not that bad. 

By the time we got back to the hotel, I leapt out of the taxi and ran towards the shrubbery, in case I was going to be sick. Fortunately I wasn’t but by this point my pregnant emotions started to get the better of me, I started to cry. I never cry at work! I had to hide it, so I ran off to the toilet just round the corner and burst into fits of tears, hysterical sobs – and not really for any reason. And then I couldn’t stop myself – I was in there for about 20 minutes. I knew I had to go out and face the music, Amy would be covering for me, but she wouldn’t be able to pull the wool over everyone’s eyes for that long. So I pulled myself together and walked out. And bless him, my boss was waiting to see how I was. It was so kind of him, yet at the same time it was kind of the last thing I wanted, because I had to lie again. 

Then Amy came to the rescue, as we sat outside the front of the hotel on the benches talking and crying till the small hours of the morning – she, reminiscing about the pregnancies with her two boys and me amidst my early pregnancy emotional turmoil. 

That was a week I will never forget!

4 thoughts on “The business trip from hell – hiding the fact that I was pregnant while suffering from morning sickness

  1. Tinka says:

    Oh yes, I remember that week… But all explanations were really plausible. You did hide it very well :o)

  2. Ange says:

    aww, i felt all your emotions then. LOL.bet you can laugh about it now

Leave a Reply

