They lied…having it all – happy family and a career

When I was young, ie a teenager, I had this vision – a good career and good husband and kids in tow – and this was my idealized dream of how my life should be. And I’m kind of there now, got the great hubby, babe and a decent inspiring job that I enjoy. But why am I not totally contented? Is this not good enough. Is this not what the career women of the 80’s said we should aspire too?

The truth is, its not all that – trying to do everything involves comprimises. Even Emma Thomson (UK film star) agrees…read on from her interview with Good Housekeeping Magazine (eek – is this me quoting from this magazine, where am I at?)

Miss Thompson said: ‘I don’t want your readers ever to think they have to have it all. I think that’s a revolting concept. It’s so false!

‘Sometimes you’ll have some things, and sometimes you’ll have other things. And you do not need it all at once; it’s not good for you.

‘You can’t be a great mum and work the whole time necessarily; those two things aren’t ideal.

‘We have an awful lot to work on and to debate about in relation to our working lives, because it isn’t working for a lot of people, particularly for a lot of women.”

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-1299808/Emma-Thompson-says–whos-got-career-AND-happy-family.html#ixzz0vYY6jWYq

So what now?
What are we gonna do – in variably carry on, as this is what we have got ourselves into. You made your bed, now lie in it lady! Or send your hubby out to get a super high paid job so that you can give up work – thats what I’m angling for at the moment. But then, would I be happy? Would I be bored?

Ho hum…as my friend said to me the other day when I was chatting to him about this – the grass is always greener. Ah ha, so true, I hate to say he’s right again.

One thought on “They lied…having it all – happy family and a career

  1. Surfergirl75 says:

    Lol, so true….

    However my dream was to own a defender a black lab work and live in the peak park doing restoration stuff outside… Where does that leave me??.. In an office full time in Bedford, working on retail stuff with 2 kids, no landrover no dog.. Haha… Am working on having any of it at anytime..!!! So far nil point

    Xx

Leave a Reply

