Struggling with the right balance of child disapline

Before I had babe, I had quite a strict view on how children should behave, but I didn’t have any understanding of young children and the more challenging communication issues with them. I had NO idea about their inability to rationalize, the impact of their limited understanding of the world, and how important it is for them to have the freedom to learn from their own mistakes and not been told-off for being naughty ALL the time.  I had no idea of the true concept of consistency and how this would be challenged all the time.

Babe being a minky spalinky!

How strict or soft should I be? I’d always thought that I would go down the route of being super strict. But with little ones, that would often mean telling them off 90% of the time, and that’s no way to encourage and help a little person grow. So I admit, I’ve softened up a bit…I dunno maybe a lot. Sometimes you have to put your foot down and say no – even if it means a tantrum in the middle of the supermarket. Particularly after the recent biting incident, see post here

I’m now getting a bit more comfortable with my definition of the right balance of discipline, and I would definitely say its a very personal thing. But that doesn’t stop us judging others approaches does it? I still do ponder if I’m getting it right though…but I guess by the time I know, it will be too late to change things.

Leave a Reply

