The love hate relationship with knitting

Argh, sometimes I wish I had never got back into knitting; that terrible pointy pair infuriate me! Deep down, I know it’s not them, it’s me – I don’t understand them properly and I make them do bad things, then I’m the one who’s complaining them they gone off track and I’ve got to undo a week’s worth of knitting.

Then other times I’m totally into them, when things are going well and I haven’t misinterpreted the pattern. During those moments, we enjoy fantastic chill-out relaxation time together.

This latest project, knitting babe a flappy ear hat, has re-affirmed to me why knitting baby bootees was so agreeable to me. They are small and don’t take much time, and if you go wrong, you haven’t got too many stitches to undo to get back on-track.

This last week or so, I have had to undo hundreds of stitches because I misinterpreted the pattern the first time around. I’m sure I would have finished this blasted thing by now if it hadn’t been for that.

Unfinished business

And all the time the weather is getting colder and colder and soon I’ll be put in the ‘bad mother pile’ for letting her young child go out without a hat. It’s a good job I have had this pressure to get the job done, or else we might have gone our separate ways by now.

You might think to yourself, why doesn’t she just go out a buy a hat? Well that’s not an option in my mind, it’s a pride thing you see, and I couldn’t bear the thought of having given up and every time we went out in the cold, getting my nose rubbed in my failure.

The one good thing I can say is that I’m past the tricky bits – although that doesn’t seem to be where I’m going wrong. It’s on the long straight bits that I don’t seem to be paying so much attention. I’m hoping to have this cursed hat completed within the next couple of weeks, child early night permitting.

Does anyone else have this relationship with knitting? Or is it just because I am a totally rubbish knitter? It’s OK, I know I’m not very good…but it would be nice to know if other people feel the same way.

Leave a Reply

