A weekend of firsts and LOL moments

When things are manic, sometimes you just need to step off the treadmill and do something different. Last weekend my mum came to stay, and it was just what we all needed to keep our minds off the busy week ahead. Whats nice about having people come and stay, is that it not only gives you the excuse to treat yourselves and go out and do nice things, it also encourages you to do different things that you wouldn’t have done without their influence. As a result babe had a rich weekend of ‘firsts’ and we laughed until our bellies ached.

Firsts for babe

  • Eating with chopsticks. I didn’t realise Wagamama‘s was so child friendly. Its amazing what kids will try if you give them a go.
  • Riding on the dodgems at the Dingles Fairground museum. Yep, I know that sounds like the most boring day out, but I assure you it was the biggest giggle we’d all had in ages. I too was very skeptical arriving in a run down empty car park in deepest, darkest Devon. But inside the dingy looking buildings was a world of bygone era fun. The website does not do it justice, if you’re ever in the area and its a rainy day with kids, you should definitely check it out.
  • Babywearing with Granny. Oh mum will hate me for calling her Granny, its Doobey Do – but if I called her that with you, you wouldn’t have a clue what I was talking about.
  • Playing on organ – this was one mega organ at the Fairground museum. We got a private playing by the resident organist just for us, although hubby and I did recon that perhaps the man fancied mum – step dad was not in tow this weekend you see. 

Babe and I on the organ

 

  • Saved from the ghost train. This was nearly a first, but we managed to save her from the terrors within at the last-minute. After hearing the horrible noises from the train that had just entered before us, I was really wondering if this was going to be one of those confidence building or confidence destroying experiences. In the end, we figured it might scar the poor child for life and we hauled her out in the last few seconds. When I got in there, I was totally jumping out of my seat – it was definitely a wise move to leave babe on the side lines.
  • Babe and I on the ghost train

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Laugh out loud moments

  • Realising on Saturday that the whole shop had heard me bellow out in the make-shift posh shop changing room, that my mums arse looked like she had a ‘jowley bum’ in that expensive skirt. She corrected me, that I should actually be calling it a ‘bat wing bum’. The joys of getting old and droopy.
  • Mum, hubby and I being doubled over in hysterics at the wiggly woggly mirrors at the Fairground – while babe looked on thinking “grow up, it really isn’t that funny”.

Babe and I in the wiggly woggly mirrors

 

  

  

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Low moments

  • Nearly loosing my voice on Saturday from my horrible cold. Not good when you’re trying to enforce discipline on a toddler. Whispering ‘don’t do that’ doesn’t have the same effect.
  • Getting totally irate with stupid Santander and their ability to close my bank account with them and only being able to communicate this frustration through whispers. I had to resort to Italian arm waving to get my point across. Not so easy with babe in front carry on the Ergo.

So it’s a bit late, but how was your weekend?

I did intend to send this post out on Monday, but time has not been on my side this week. Busy work with long hours, has left me struggling to find time to eat and sleep, let alone write and tweek (and tweet for that matter).

Leave a Reply

