Toddler Sweetheart to Toddler Terror

Once there was a girl with a curl right in the middle of her forehead, when she was good she was very very good and when she was bad she was horrid.   

Well babe has curls, but not right in the middle of her forehead. And that’s because she is only just starting to grow out of the mullet look – yeah, no longer can my mum call her Ian Hislop. But she is fairly true to form according to the poem above.

Yesterday morning we caught the train into town. The plan was to go to Topsham, a delightful little riverside area with ducks and swans etc – but we missed that train by about 10 seconds. Grrr, I was not happy.

I was going to call it quits, but babe loves going on the train and I was all out of inspiration, so I decided we’d catch the next train that comes by the station 10 minutes later. Ah ha, the train to town. And town largely equals one thing, shopping.

We enjoyed a nice hour poddling around a few shops, with the obligatory multiple toilet stops that comes with a newly toilet trained child. I even picked up a valentines pressie for hubby. We don’t usually celebrate valentines, but it had 75% off and I liked the item. The tradegy was, I got it because the Jo Downs handmade glass shop is closing down. I love Joe Downs stuff…but hold on, phew there is an online store.

Anyway, I’m digressing again…

On the way back to the train, after eating our pack of 10 mini cocktail sausages (a bit of an indulgence I know but what the heck), we passed a mini ride on roundabout thing. Which babe magnetized towards. I seriously think they have some high pitched flute player banging out a tune that only young children can hear, like those cat deterring things you can put in your garden to stop them crapping on your patch.

She was not going to give this one up without a fight…a wrestle in fact. I tried the calm explaining thing, and give the ride credit, it was partly on my side. MINUMUM AGE 3. There was my justified reason, sorry babe you’re too young to go on that.

Poor lil one, she don’t understand this stuff yet. So my only choice was to pick her up kicking and screaming and carry her to a point where I could distract her with something else. This took longer than I thought, grrr no longer my one year old relative push over she used to be!

One thought on “Toddler Sweetheart to Toddler Terror

  1. Doodlemum says:

    I use the “oooh I just a big dragon/monster/dinosaur/teddy over there, lets go and have a look…” it’s so frustrating being little and poor Mum has to be the one to rationalise this unfairness. Look forward to the day when the mere mention of shopping is enough to send them diving for cover!

Leave a Reply

