Planning on tandem breastfeeding

What is she banging on about now? You might be thinking to yourself.

Before you drop your cake on the floor or dribble your coffee down your chin, let me explain.

What is tandem breastfeeding?
In a nutshell, its nursing two infants at once. Not necessarily physically at the same time, but there are two boobies so there is no reason why not. One for you, another for you…how to keep two quiet and out of trouble.

Why I want to do it
a) Because I want babe to be able to self wean (within reason, not defined the edge of reason quite yet), forcing her to stop because a new baby is in the house won’t be helpful in stopping her feeling pushed aside
b) Because there are lots of bonding benefits for siblings
c) Because it’s a great way to keep connected with babe when the new baby is around
d) Because it helps reduce jealousy and feelings of being pushed out
e) Because there is no way I want to lose this tool in my box of toddler tantrum solvers when I’m exhausted with a new baby in the house

My support
Those close family and friends I’ve told about this are totally supportive. Hubby is my #1 supporter, and I’m so grateful and thankful to him for taking the time out to read about this and support this choice.

The online support that I have from my twitter mamas has also been massively instrumental in empowering me with the confidence I need to stand up to the criticism I’m bound to get.

A book by the La Leche League that I mentioned in my post yesterday about being pregnant and breastfeeding has been great in helping me make a level-headed conclusion while considering all the factors. It’s called Adventures in Tandem Nursing. I have read this cover to cover numerous times already.

Is there a risk that the toddler will take all the milk?
If you don’t do it right, I think there is. There are things you need to keep in mind if this is going to work for all three of you. Like giving the new baby priority boarding to the boobies etc. When it comes to baby getting the colostrum this is very important.

Getting real
I get the impression this might not be the easy choice, but when has that ever stopped me? I want what feels right for my babies needs. I have a feeling when I’m exhausted that people will try to persuade me to give up, but that’s no different to when I first started breastfeeding. I’m ready for the battle this time, so be warned, support me or stay quiet. I’m taking no prisoners on this one.

3 thoughts on “Planning on tandem breastfeeding

  1. Pinkoddy says:

    Well done. I think it is actually a gift as many people don’t get the opportunity to experience tandem feeding and feeding at the same time is so magical. My older one helped guide me with the younger. It is one of the few ways I can get them to sleep at the same time. Most importantly in my case is that I didn’t have to wait for milk to come in or get engorgement and this was key as my baby was born at 35 wks with an infection. Best of luck and enjoy x

  2. […] Read more: Planning on tandem breastfeeding « Nurturing Career Mama’s Blog […]

Leave a Reply

