Pregnancy Calls Off Camping Trip

Camping - cooking over a hunters fire.

Image via Wikipedia

Reality took a check by our house last week, when we realised that two weeks camping with a toddler and me nearing the third trimester of pregnancy was not such a great idea. Initially I was reluctant to give up the idea of our big annual camping trip, but my body spoke up and did the talking for me on the topic.

The unexpected problem
The last thing I thought would stop me in my tracks has – tiredness. There I was getting worried about sleeping and the logistics of wedging myself into my mummy sleeping bag at 26/27 weeks pregnant. Not the tiredness that just everyday life presented me with. Contemplating having to hike across a field every time I needed to pee, the dishes needed washing etc would require an extra pool of the energy stuff that I just can’t seem to locate right now (they don’t sell it at Tesco or on Amazon). Try doing nice day trips on top of the day-to-day tasks of just camping and I think I might just risk bringing on an early labour. I’m all for homebirth but tentbirth I am not!

Reaching the realistic compromise
While we wanted to give Babe a brilliant summer holiday to remember we soon realised that going camping under our current circumstances was not going to necessarily be all that joyous. Not if ma and pa where going to be exhausted and grumpy.

Staying home
The very thought of this a month ago filled me with dread. I’m at home all the flaming time as a WAHM, why do I want to stay here for holiday? I was also not going to be defeated. But defeated and beaten I am…ground down to the point that I’m relishing staying home, taking it easy and just day tripping. I can hog my double bed, drown my bump in the giant bolster pillow and pee in the real bog in the room next door. I can wash the dishes without having to walk them around a field to take in the view first, and I can roll and bounce around on my birth ball all I like without odd sideways glances from fellow campers.

All is not lost
There is a small chance we may venture out for a night or two but let’s not count our chickens yet…

2 thoughts on “Pregnancy Calls Off Camping Trip

  1. Ellen says:

    1. Poking me does prompt me into responding to your blogs

    2. Lazy bones, I did a week in the lakes at 38weeks, for some reason I thought going into labour up there would be exciting, in retrospect I was being a pillock

    3. Book yourself into centre parcs, babe will love it, and you will love the spa, which is reduced when you are pregnant due to experience restrictions xxx

    4. Most importantly, time for hubby to pull his finger out and take over so you get rest x

    5. As of end of this month I will have my own place, where you will always be welcome

    • Thanks for the comment, the poke was not intended to get this response but I will try it more in the future 😉

      A week camping at 38 weeks preg, you are clearly made of tougher stuff. So I now feel totally pathetic and weedy.

Leave a Reply

