What’s Going on Spain? Poor Habiba & Alma

This morning I lay in bed snuggling and nursing with Babe that little longer, having read the latest updates on the Spanish breastfeeding Habiba & Alma story.

If you’ve not heard about it, then I implore you to click on a few of the links below and find out more.

A mother has had her baby daughter of 15 months taken away from her because she continued to breastfeed. Now you might expect this from a country renowned for its diabolical human rights, but we are talking about Spain* here. A fellow member of the EU, a place we go on our holidays to, a country that we get lots of fruit and veg from where the pretty tanned people live. Not a country that separates mother from baby just for continuing to breastfeed!

I’ve been holding off blogging about this for a week. As at first I wasnt sure if they might have separated Habiba and her baby for some other reason. I didn’t want to be part of a false rumour mill. But observing all the details unfold, as medical professionals and lawyers get involved I now believe that this is true.

Babe has been extra clingy to nurse this morning, maybe she understands too? In fact when I got up this morning she hollered “oy more num nums mummy”.

The latest update on the story is that Habiba was allowed to see Alma her baby girl yesterday. When Alma rooted around to be nursed, the orderly shouted “no”…

I cannot imagine what it would be like to:

a) have my child taken away from me
b) to be able to then see her and not be able to comfort her in the most loving and nurturing way possible

If I didn’t work I would be one of those mamas protesting this week. My second best is this blog post, to at least help in a very small way to spread the awareness of this awful story.

If you are a nurturing parent, that values your own parenting choices then please support and follow the We Are All Habiba facebook page.

Today I’m thankful that I live in a country that does not scorn on me (heavily) for my extended breastfeeding. My doctor and midwife both support MY decision to nurture my child this way.

* Sorry about previous references to Morroco, this has now been updated.

4 thoughts on “What’s Going on Spain? Poor Habiba & Alma

  1. Bexz Komene says:

    Hi – I love your blog. I just wanted to let you know Habiba is from Morocco but she is an immigrant and this all took place in Madrid, Spain.

  2. Mara says:

    Habiba is Moroccan, but she was at a Center for Young Mothers in Madrid, Spain. Thus, the racism and prejudice. Many Spaniards look down upon those coming from Morocco to look for work, a place to live, basically asylum.

Leave a Reply

