Tandem nursing with a toddler and baby here we come

Photo borrowed from TouchstoneZ Parenting blog

Soon I am about to start my new breastfeeding journey of nursing a toddler and a newborn, which I’m sure will be greeted with another bought of skepticism from the righteous. But I’m used to fighting such battles and defending my corner, so it should be a walk in the park. I say this hopefully, knowing what new baby hormones and lack of sleep do to me. Then again, I also know that the net result is usually me becoming more stubborn (determined).

Babe, my toddler of two years and nearly nine months is still happily breastfeeding in the morning and evening. I have no intention to start planning an end date, it’s her call. With baby Boyo due very soon, for sure I will be breastfeeding them both. I’m really excited about this, as it has been shown to really help sibling bonding and minimise the negative feelings the older child may have.

There is part of me that is a little apprehensive, as I hear that sometimes the older child in response to the new baby and lots of milk, is likely to start nursing frequently again. How will we as a family manage this? How will visitors react? Yes, I am thinking, sod others, this is my family. But still I can’t help being a tiny bit bothered in such situations.

If truth be told I sometimes revel in being strong enough to step out of the mould and do what I believe is right regardless of social norms. But there is the other side of me which doesn’t like being scorned on by others. But I guess that’s being a mother, no matter what parenting choices you make.

I ultimately feel so privileged that I am going to have the chance to try out tandem breastfeeding. Some would love to, but for many reasons they are not finally able to. So I’m determined to make the most of it.

If there are any tandem mothers out there willing to share some tips, I’d really love to hear them. Thanks.

3 thoughts on “Tandem nursing with a toddler and baby here we come

  1. One of my lovely mums tandem fed and she didn’t have a problem. Let baby feed first from full boob and elder child had boob that had already been fed from (if that makes sense!) so littlest got easiest / maximum flow. Not done myself, but wouldn’t be averse – just not happened that way with my babes – they have both decided to stop of their own accord before I conceived. Maybe next time !!

  2. Thank you for the photo credit 🙂

    We’re still going strong tri-andem nursing here at ages 5, 3, and 1. My advice is to follow your rhythms and be gentle with yourselves. Most days will be great. Some days will not be. And hormones play a big part in how you feel about your older nursling, especially. So, remember that if/when the mom-guilt tries to spring on you.

    And, if you haven’t yet, please pick up a copy of Hilary Flowers “Adventures in Tandem Nursing.” It saved my sanity

    I’m around for anything you need, too. Best wishes!

    • I have got that book thanks, and I’m re-reading it now to get things fresh in my mind.

      Thanks for the offer of support, I suspect I may well need it. So I’ll be in touch soon 🙂

      Enjoying your blog btw.

Leave a Reply

