3rd Birthday Party Madness

I’m so dizzy my head is spinning, it’s like a whirl pool it never ends…

But thank god the three year olds parties are O V E R. But credit to the wilful girlie, she was beautifully behaved at both (appart from the wee incident with one little cherubs arm – but lets not dwell on that).

*Shush no one knew about the day of hell in between the two parties. This was one of those days that if I could have resigned from being a mama I would have done. Over tired three year old super clingy, demanding, shouting grumpiness is not becoming.*

The first party on Tuesday was a huge success with my two friends and their daughters. The kids and the mamas had loads of fun (who needs alcohol). The girls trashed the house while the mums revelled in the competition of the party games. I don’t get out much (well at all at the moment) so it was great to dig out some Pulp and play musical statues to ‘Common People’. Then came the apple bobbling, which got rather competitive. Not the girls, just my friend and I, and we surprisingly did not get drenched until the little ones decided that it was way more fun to drop the apples from a height back into the bowl. Stand back! The most popular game was something I’d never done or heard of (until my friend in Germany suggested it the morning before). It involved blowing cotton wool balls across the table – simple and no water involved. They loved it.

But the girls had the most fun hanging out in my bedroom. At one point I found the three of them lined up in baby Boyo’s crib (as it has a drop side for cosleeping). Then later I found all three snuggled up in bed listening to classical fm or bird calls on my radio – such a contrast to their antics 30 minutes before.

The second party was a family occasion which was more chaotic as we had older children, more adults and it was during the dicey hours of 4pm till 7pm. That said nothing was broken and Babe had a wonderful time.

And as yet nothing or no one has been harmed by the birthday umbrella which goes everywhere. In Babes world it’s always raining, even in her dreams so she snuggles up with it in bed. I even managed to overcome her bathing reluctance by saying she could take it in the bath – she loved it when I turned the shower on. But I’m starting to harbour a dislike for it. It seems everywhere I step this blasted umbrella is waiting…just peacefully lingering in silence to bring me tumbling down. I’m hoping this infatuation begins to fade soon.

So now to ready myself for the Christmas chaos. Good luck 🙂 See you at the other side.

Leave a Reply

